Process+Reflection_03(1)

by cwayman1

Project Statement:

‘Project_03: Tran(section) continues the material exploration started in Project_02. Students must identify a system of assembly used in the construction of their Project_02 final model and develop that system toward the accommodation of landscape programs. The program for Project_03 includes:

  • A space for individual students to quietly reflect.
  • A space for our studio to interact.
  • A space to support a productive Student ASLA meeting.’

This presents an interesting opportunity for me. An initial look at my model led me to the ‘system of assembly’ using the ‘tongue-and-groove’ joints connecting my cardboard massings and the horizontal supports. What I realized during my presentation/review, however, was that at certain angles I could see straight through my cardboard pieces. During construction I had cut each of my pieces along the same corrugated orientation (for the initial sake of coherency throughout the model) and when viewed straight-on, I could see through the piece. So from this my ‘system of assembly’ quickly gravitated toward that of

transparency.

So I began by creating a list of terms, concepts, and ideas that I associate with transparency at a quick-fire rate.

  • transparency, see-through, visibility, visual connection, honest, limited vs. open accessibility, open/ airy, connectivity, relation, readability, opportunity, invitation, proximity, permeability.

So my initial designs have been more focused toward the notion of literal transparency and visibility–the implication of spaces and sight lines, allées, higher foliage canopies that offer increased lateral/peripheral visibility, etc..

The question that I continue to ask myself without answer is: WHAT it is that I am making transparent? The use of space? The fact that other spaces exist? The context of our site within the larger campus context? I don’t know.

What follows is the culmination–and a fairly photo-heavy culmination, I might add–of my process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

